2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

Reviews Reviews

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Been there for some time… Always our starting point on summer vacation… Great hosts, near center of Komiža, fishmarket and beaches, isolated yet near to everything. Ideal for couples. You wont miss a thing.

“We would definitely do this again!”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed for eight nights in apartment Margarita and enjoyed every moment of it. Tomislav may be the perfect host, humble and eager to please, and aided by Zeljka and Duje the dog made everything he could to make sure we were happy. This included providing drinks when we returned exhausted from the beach and checking in now and then to make sure we were comfortable.

Villa Kamenica is situated in the outskirts of the village and it is surrounded by a beautiful garden with lemon trees, bougainvillea, rosemary, and lavender. Although placed in a quiet location the villa is not more than five minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, the harbour, and smallish grocery stores. Beaches are equally close unless you choose more seclusion and are willing to take the 1-hour trek to Perna beach. We did it twice, and it was totally worth it! Lazier legs may prefer taxi boat from the harbour.

The apartment was very clean and functional and equipped with everything needed for a comfortable vacation week (including the crucial espresso machine). Two perfectly situated areas with outdoor seating made excellent spots for breakfast, afternoon snack, and dinner.

We had a wonderful time and are already making plans for a return visit to Komiza. In fact, Villa Kamenica may well be reason enough to go there again.

Thanks. /Johan & Ingrid

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Ingrid & Johan Lindberg / Uppsala, Sweden / 22.7.2015.

“Villa Kamenica”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed in the garden villa and also apartment Bella. All previous reviews are correct. We received such a warm welcome from Tomislav and fell in love with the garden and the tranquility of Villa Kamenica. The villa is a short walk from a beautiful beach and the main town of Komiza. We have vowed to return over the coming years we loved it so much!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Claire Davidson / London, United Kingdom / 18.7.2015.

“Highlight of Our Two Weeks in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars

Great accommodation enhanced by the generosity and hospitality of hosts Tomislav and Zeljka. So warm and helpful. It is worth the trip for the pleasure of interacting with them.

Komiza itself is a welcome respite from other tourist spots. Little cafes, excellent restaurants with great local-sourced food. One is enveloped by the local ambiance for a genuinely relaxed experience not easy to find in today's world.

We look forward to going back!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Linda & Dick Meyers / Bethesda,Pennsylvania,USA / 16.7.2015.

We had a wonderful time on this lovely island and in the apartment Margarita. Most of all we liked the garden with all the flowers and our balcony. Tom and Zeljka were very nice hosts. We hope, that we'll see us again.

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Antje Rösener / Bielefeld,Germani / 3.7.2015.

One of the most beautiful places on Earth, with the most adorable hosts. Vila Kamenica is one of the cases where the pictures doesn’t match the reality, but here the opposite is true: what you have in this garden is even more special than what you see in the airbnb description. This place smells Rosemary and Lavender, here you can enjoy the shadow of Lemon, Apple and Pear trees, sleep in a delicious hammock or read a book seating at the swing chair. We went to Kamenica with our daughter Sofia (1 year and 9 months), and she could just be lost in this universe searching for an adorable family of turtles that also leave there. The Jacusi in the garden is a dream. A very nice way to finish a day watching the stars. The room is just perfect: beautiful, silent, fully equipped and super clean. The area outside (table, chairs, barbecue) is lovely, and we had all our breakfasts under the vine. The place is also very close to the beach and to the center of Komiza. Tomo and Zelika are very attentions, present but discrete. We have the feeling that they know what you want/need even before you ask. They live now in our hearts. We are already planning a time to come back to Vila Kamenica next year.

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Murilo&Beti Moregola / Brazil / 2.7.2015.

Con su amabilidad y simpatía. Nos hizo sentir como en casa.

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Catalina Rossello / Palma de Majorka / 29.6.2015.

“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica was simply fantastic - the apartment Bella was perfectly outfitted (the terrace had the most beautiful views of the water), the garden of the villa with all of its beautiful citrus trees and places to rest was fabulous to return to at the end of a long, warm day, and Tomislav was one of the most considerate, helpful hosts we've met. There is no place I would rather stay in Komiza!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Christina Stevens / San Francisco,USA / 28.6.2015.

“Well-situated, attractive and clean apartment with very lovely, friendly and helpful hosts”
5 of 5 stars
This is a well-situated, attractive and clean apartment with very lovely, friendly and helpful hosts: Zeljka and Tomislav (and their cute Westie Duje). We stayed in the Margarita apartment, which has a great balcony for breakfasts and evening drinks, and a good-sized bedroom with a huge bed and a functional and well-laid-out kitchen/living area with all you would need as a couple. There was also additional outside living space with great views and the option of using an outside grill. The guest gardens are also beautiful and well worth taking a dip in the jacuzzi, keeping an eye out for the tortoises.

The sea is a few minutes walk away, as are the three more upscale restaurants. A few minutes further along you'll easily get to the town's main area which has lots of cafes, bars and restaurants, along with day-trip and taxi boats which can take you to the blue cave and other attractions around the island.

The coach from the port in Vis town makes a stop right outside Villa Kamenica and it's a good jumping off point for walking up to the higher points of the island or touring if you rent a vehicle (Tomislav is able to offer good rates on these).

Thank you very much Zeljka, Tomislav and Duje! We had a wonderful holiday at Villa Kamenica and it was a great pleasure to meet you.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Lucy Muir-Smith / England, United Kingdom / 25.6.2015.

“Fanatic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything you read on here is true. It's such a wonderful place to stay. Your hosts are fantastic and the place is really lovely.we had such a wonderful holiday and it was made all the more special because of this place

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Ella Price / Leeds (Kent), United Kingdom / 21.6.2015.

The Garden Cottage was absolutely wonderful. It was the ideal location. A short walk to all the stores and the beach. Our host went above and beyond to make us feel at home and gave us great tips about the island. I would highly recommend staying here.
(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Amanda Davis / England, United Kingdom / 23.6.2015.

“Lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 stars

We had such a great stay at Villa Kamenica, the hosts are so lovely, nothing is too much trouble. The location is great and there is a bus connecting the ferries to Vis town. I would definitely recommend you stay here if coming to the island of Vis. Don't miss the blue cave trip, boats depart at 10am returning at 12pm and only costs 140 kuna each!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Sarah Goodhue / Auckland, New Zealand / 18.6.2015.

Tomislav greeted us right when we got off the bus in Komiza. He was so friendly and nice. He showed us all around the property and to our rooms and he even gave us some brandy and had a drink with us! The room is in a great location and has a beautiful view from the balcony. The garden of the property is so lovely and you can tell they really put a lot of effort into it. Our room was very clean and perfect for what we needed. We didn't get the chance to meet Tomislav's wife but we met their cute dog Luie and Tomislav was there to help with anything we needed. Thanks for everything!

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Amanda Strachan / England, United Kingdom / 22.6.2015.

“Villa Kamenica Review”
5 of 5 stars

I recently stayed at the Margarita apartment at the Villa Kamenica. I had a wonderful experience and the hosts were so kind. The apartment was a bit small but I mostly spent time on the balcony that had a view of the water. I thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and the beautiful garden area.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Julie Philly / England, United Kingdom / 14.6.2015.

“Wonderful stay ! ”
5 of 5 stars

The villa is an amazing place. The garden is crowded with lavenders and lemon trees, it has a grill where you can cook fish and the jacuzzi is very relaxing after one day of kayaking. We stayed in the separate studio wich I definitely recommend, the kitchen is well equipped, it is very clean and the ac works perfectly. Tomislav and Zeljka were the best ! On our arrival they offered us some homemade licours and the other day we cooked fish together :), really nice people to have a chat. Kozima is a small village, is a bit touristy but it is still very nice, the blue cave and the beaches are beautiful, worth a visit !
Luiza Di Blasio

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Luiza Di Blasio / Rio de Janeiro ,Brazil / 14.6.2015.

“Total bliss”
5 of 5 stars

Our stay at Apartment Margarita-Villa Kamenica was totally idyllic. We had one of the most relaxing holidays i've ever been on. The wonderful hosts of the Villa are just one of the things that makes staying there a 5 star experience. We were given no end of generous offerings such a a little glass of the local tipple, an amazing fig cake and coffee and lemon juice on arrival. The apartment itself has a huge comfy bed and the room is as big as any lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. The location of the villa is perfect with nothing in Komiza being more than a few minutes walk. perfect for popping to buy a bottle of wine, coming back from the nearby beach or just a short stroll home from the nicest restaurant in the little town. From what I've seen of Croatia it's beautiful place and really still seems quite unspoilt by commercialism. There are gift shops and tourist trips but you won't ever feel ripped off being on the Island of Vis. Lovely place, people, apartment and experience. Will be trying to persuade my parents and friends to do the exact same holiday as us.

Sarah Howels

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Sarah Howels / London, United Kingdom / 8.6.2015.

“Absolutely Sterling holiday and better hosts.”
5 of 5 stars

Staying at Villa Kamenica has been one of the best relaxing breaks in Europe I have ever had.

I was looking for a break from London in a beautiful and peaceful place and we really found it!

Komiza is a stunning place. Historic buildings alongside beautiful beaches and crystal clear water.

What made this stay such a delight was how great the apartment was (Margarita) and how genuinely lovely the hosts were; Tomislav and Zeljka.

From meeting us at the bus stop stop even if we did miss the stop to drinks on arrival and generally just helpful, friendly and nice to be around and ask questions.

The house has a beautiful garden, great balconies and terraces all really good value for money.

Its five minutes to one of the beaches so you can pop back and forth happily and is even closer to one of the best restaurants on the island. (Konobo Bako).

If you are looking for a a beautiful break to relax with great hosts this is the place.

Nathan Appleyard

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Nathan Appleyard / London, United Kingdom / 8.6.2015.

Congratulations, Villa Kamenica is a 2015 Travellers' Choice Winner

Ranked #1 of 4 Comisa B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars
Certificate of Excellence 2015

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

TripAdvisor ,Villa Kamenica,Komiža / Croatia / 23.1.2015.

“Great place and hosts”
5 of 5 stars

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights in September and we had a great time. The apartment was clean, modern and exactly what we wanted. Tomislav and Zejlka were incredibly generous and friendly, giving us an insight into the best places to eat, visit and rent a scooter.The garden is really relaxing, the hot tub is fantastic and the location is a couple of minutes walk from the main harbour. Only wish we could have stayed longer!.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Reece W / Birmingham, United Kingdom / 2.10.2014.

“Villa Kamenica exceeds our expectations!!!!”
5 of 5 stars

We Had a wonderful time with Tomislav and Zejlka at their lovely villa and couldn't have wished for better hosts or accommodation. We stayed for 7 nights, 3 in the garden suite and 4 in the suite called Villa Margarita. Each suite was perfectly suitable for a couple, or in our case, for 2 longtime women friends. Tomislav and Zejlka have thought of every little thing to make one's stay comfortable and enjoyable. The kitchens are small but have everything one needs, they provide bath and beach towels, bed linens and everything is fresh and spotlessly clean. Their garden is lush and fragrant, and beautifully landscaped. It felt like an oasis. The hot tub was a really nice perk. Tomislav had good restaurant recommendations for all parts of the island. Their villa seems to have 3 separate rental suites, and could be really nice for a group of friends to rent or a small family reunion. It's super handy that they live onsite and are usually around to help with anything that comes up, and they do so most graciously. It was an exceptional stay.
Room Tip: The garden suite is best in good weather where one can use the outdoor patio area as additional livi...

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

marivancouver / Vancouver, Canada / 25.9.2014.

“Best place to stay in Komiza”
5 of 5 stars

In August 2014 we stayed a week in the garden cottage of Villa Kamenica after a 2 week round trip in Croatia. It was the perfect spot to have some final relaxing days, close to the sea. The garden cottage is a nice room and has a large terrace/garden, a bbq, an outdoor kitchen, a large table to enjoy some wine in the evening.... And off course what makes it all the best are the wonderfull, extremely helpfull hosts Tomislav and Zeljka. They offered us some fresh sardines from the bbq, homemade liquor, fresh lemon from their garden, .... and helped us grill (and clean!) the fish we bought in the morning on the fish market. Villa Kamenica is absolutely the best place to stay in Komiza.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Sara047 / Belgium / 22.9.2014.

“Perfect Honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 stars

I can only but add to Villa Kamenica's already Glowing reviews. Tomislav and Zeljka were absolutely fantastic from the start. He met us at the harbour and we were whisked away to their gorgeous villa and grounds. First thing we had was some fantastic Honey and Walnut Grappa as they proceeded to inform us about the island. They made our stay there so special that it would take a lot more space to tell them all. I will say that I defy anybody to find a host who buys you fish from the local fish market, asks you when you want to eat lunch and then proceeds to cook you the most fantastic fish you have ever eaten.....without accepting a penny in return. He even gave us his umbrella when it rained. They truly care about you and gave us the most incredible experience of them and the island!!!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Alex G / London, United Kingdom / 18.9.2014.

“Beautiful place with amazing hosts!”
5 of 5 stars

My boyfriend and I have just returned from staying in the Garden Cottage at Villa Kamenica and is truly does deserve all of the rave reviews. Tomislav and Zeljka were great hosts and treated us like family- they shared some lovely sardines with us, left us fresh figs and let us use their own kitchen when we had one particularly stormy day. We borrowed their car to drive around the island which I highly recommend...it's the best way to explore the stunning island of Vis.

The apartment itself was small but perfectly formed and very well stocked. We had a large outdoor terrace area with a fire pit, small outdoor kitchen and huge table where we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine most evenings. The garden cottage also had the best access to the hot tub area- I think in the two weeks we stayed there were only had to share it once!

Komiza itself is a gorgeous, small town. You have everything you might need although do get to know the opening hours of the butcher, fishmonger and green market...that's where you'll get the freshest, best value produce. The walk to Kamenica Beach is also worth it- whilst we were staying there was a festival happening which was a good night out!

All in all I can't fault Villa Kamenica or Komiza. We had a fabulous time and were very sad to leave and say goodbye to Tomislav and Zeljka. We hope to return some day!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Anna R / London, United Kingdom / 11.9.2014.

“Great location, kind owners, and beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed in the Margarita apartment at Villa Kamenica for six days and had a wonderful time. The apartment is on the second floor of the several apartments available, with views of both the mountains and the sea. We ate on the veranda every evening enjoying those views. The center of the town, Komiza, is within easy walking distance (5-10 minutes depending on your pace). The small harbor is located right in the center of town, and since shops open early (7 a.m.), each morning we enjoyed coffee and something from the nearby bakery, sitting on benches looking out on the harbor. There are several beaches nearby; the beaches are of small stones, rather than sand, so bring your wading shoes, but the water is clear and refreshing. We swam for hours most days. Tomislav and Zeljika, the owners, treated us with great kindness.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

pbwatt6856 / Saitama Prefecture, Japan / 10.9.2014.

“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica was by far one of the best apartments we've ever stayed in. Comfortable rooms, bbq, private patio area and balcony, good location in Komiza (which is small anyway), and the hosts were super friendly and helpful.

We borrowed their car for a day to explore the island, which didn't cost much and is worth doing to reach the more inaccessible coves.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

miguelhead / London, United Kingdom / 3.9.2014.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars

We spent a wonderful week in Villa Kamenica, which deserves its reputation as the best place to stay in Komiža. Our apartment was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Željka and Tomislav were perfect hosts, giving us plenty of privacy but right there when we needed them. The house is surrounded by fruit trees, so the garden is cool and shady, but with enough space if you want to sit out and relax after a hard day at the beach. Lovely island, lovely village, lovely villa - can’t recommend it highly enough.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

loulou-lamour / London, United Kingdom / 2.9.2014.

“Home from home with a spa!”
5 of 5 stars

Amazing owners. Amazing place to stay 5 mins from the beach. Comfy beds. Outside fire pit/ BBQ Jacuzzi! Quite area just 5 mins walk from down town. The owners where lovely, welcoming, helpful and brilliant people. Il miss them :( Best place to stay in Komisa.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

AKHEMS / London, United Kingdom / 23.8.2014.

“Great accommodation”
5 of 5 stars

Very nice accommodation, very nice hosts and a beautiful garden, We stayed in the Margarita apartment and it was cosy enough for three people. Komiža is a beautiful little place with very nice restaurants

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Aleta 10001 / Aleta10001 Zagreb, Croatia / 12.8.2014.

“Perfect hosts and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars

From the moment we arrived in Comisa we felt right at home as we were greeted off the bus from Vis Town by Željka and Tomislav and offered a very refreshing lemon juice drink.

We stayed in the Bella apartment which was a nice, clean, comfortable room that included a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea and rooftops of Comisa. Villa Kamenica is in the perfect location for accessing all of Comisa and the hot tub/garden area was also a lovely place to relax in.

I can't really say enough good things about the hospitality we received from Željka and Tomislav, Villa Kamenica, Comisa and the island of Vis in general.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

shader797 / Stornoway, United Kingdom / 6.8.2014.

“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed in the garden cottage which we absolutely recommend (best access to the hot tub!). Our hosts were very friendly, offered us a bottle of local wine and shared their food with us. The garden is absolutely lovely, with two turtles, and yes, a hot tub. It felt like we could not have found a nicer place on the island.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Manuel F / Berlin, Germany / 1.8.2014.

“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica was a fantastic place stay . The vIlla has a very nice garden and we found that it was very comfortable and private and we should have stayed longer. Tomislav excellent host and made us feel very welcome. We stayed to Vis for 3 nights and is really a minimum. The room is clean, well located, and with the Jacuzzi the place is wonderful.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Richard T / Montreal, Canada / 2.7.2014.

“Séjour de charme”
5 of 5 stars

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour. Villa très bien située. L'hôte de la villa est très serviable, attentif à notre bien-être et de très bon conseil (resto, visite, etc.) pour rendre le séjour des plus agréables. Chambre très bien équipée et très propre. Le Jacuzzi dans un jardin enchanteur a été apprécié. Nous recommandons Komiza comme destination sur l'île de Vis, pour le charme, les restos et l'ambiance d'un port local.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Lyne B / St Maarten-St Martin ,Canada / 2.7.2014.

“Pure Herzlichkeit und Gastfreundschaft”
5 of 5 stars

Wir waren im Juni für 1 Woche in Komiza.
Wir hatten das Apartment Margarita gebucht und es hat unsere Erwartungen übertroffen.
Tomislav und Zeljka sowie Duje sind ausgezeichtene Gastgeber.
Wir waren in wenigen Minuten im Ortskern und am Strand. Es ist sehr ruhig gelegen und die Sauberkeit sowie die Austattung sind sehr gut. Der Garten ist ein Traum:)
Obwohl das Wetter ein paar Tage nicht so richtig mitspielte, schmälerte es in keinster Weise unser Urlaubsvergnügen.
Die Insel Vis ist optimal für wandern, biken, tauchen oder auch Besichtigungen zu machen.
Empfehlen können wir die Königin Teuta Höhle, wo man wunderbar vom Ort "Okljucna" in 1 Stunde hingewandert ist. Helm, Lampe und Seil nicht vergesssen wer tiefer hinein will:) Es gibt auch eine geführte Tour.
Ansonsten sind auch die zahlreichen militärischen Anlagen zu empfehlen, 16 Stück an der Zahl auf der ganzen Insel verteilt. Auch hier gibt es eine Führung durch die Bunker.

Viel Spass auf diesem Stück Eiland, wo noch nicht so viele Touris zu finden sind.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Phil538 / Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany / 1.7.2014.

Our stay at the Garden Cottage couldn't of been more perfect. The hosts were incredibly friendly and treated us as if we were friends. We felt incredibly welcome and enjoyed the ease and beauty of the apartment. I recommend this to anyone, the hosts and accommodation made our trip.

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Lydia / Leamington, United Kingdom / 29.6.2014.

We stayed in the Garden Cottage, which was lovely and very private. Sadly the weather was very rainy but Zeljka was very accommodating and offered us the use of another apartment that had more shelter to make our bbq etc. She also brought us a bottle of homemade red wine which was very much appreciated!

(AirBnb)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Alice / London, United Kingdom / 25.6.2014.

Ranked #1 of 4 Comisa B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars
Certificate of Excellence 2014

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

TripAdvisor/ Villa Kamenica,Croatia / 23.6.2014.

“Beautiful villa in a great location”
5 of 5 stars

My boyfriend and I stayed at villa kamenica last week. We stayed in the garden apartment and had full use of the garden, BBQ and hot tub! The hosts are very welcoming and the villa is located just a few minutes walk from the ocean and restaurants. This was the best hotel we stayed at in Croatia and was fantastic value for money! Highly recommended!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Helenkate90 / London, United Kingdom / 22.6.2014.

“happy days”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica was a fantastic place to begin our first holiday in Croatia. We stayed in the garden room and found everything very comfortable and private and wished we had stayed longer. Tomislav and Jelika were excellent hosts and made us very welcome. We stayed in Croatia for 2 weeks travelling down to Dubrovnik and this was by far the best accommodation for the price and convenience of location. When we go back we will definitely stay there again.
Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are good but if you don't mind not having a view, the garden room...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Karen and Richard / United Kingdom / 16.6.2014.

“Best apartments on Croatian island”
5 of 5 stars

Been there for some time... Always our starting point on summer vacation... Great hosts, near center of Komiža, fishmarket and beaches, isolated yet near to everything. Ideal for couples. You wont miss a thing.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Jura and Helena / Zagreb Croatia / 2.6.2014.

“Best apartments on Croatian island”
5 of 5 stars

Been there for some time... Always our starting point on summer vacation... Great hosts, near center of Komiža, fishmarket and beaches, isolated yet near to everything. Ideal for couples. You wont miss a thing.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Dell912 / Zagreb -London,United Kingdom / 3.6.2014.

Ranked #1 of 4 Comisa B&B and Inns
5.0 of 5 stars 62 Reviews

Certificate of Excellence 2013

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

TripAdvisor / Villa KAMENICA ,Komiža,Croatia / 20.1.2013.

Comfortable, spotless, airy room in pared-down/neutral design, handy kitchenette and nicely sized private balcony with seaview overlooking a lovely lush garden.
(Booking.com)

Mature couple / London, United Kingdom / 1.10.2013.

“A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars

We really loved this place. A perfect location, a friendly, but VERY discreet welcome. A great view from our room. We didn't stay in the garden often, but it was very nice and well taken care of. Very nice to have a kitchen in Croatia as the restaurants are a bit pricey and not very good so home cooking is a good option from time to time. Comisa is a lovely town, almost too much so. Would love to come back

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

StinoParis / Paris / 27.9.2013.

Wonderful owner and his dog, the hot tub, the grounds and the town.
(Booking.com)

george / Mlini, Croatia / 27.9.2013.

“A lovely retreat for a very laid-back holiday”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica, in the lovely fishing town of Komiza, on the Croatian island of Vis, is a lovely place in which to spend one or two weeks. Tomislav and Jelika are very friendly and helpful hosts (Tomislav picked us up from the ferry in Vis town), welcoming yet unobtrusive. We stayed in Bella Apartment, an airy, comfortable room with nice pared down decor, hardwood floors and a handy kitchenette with basic equipment for breakfast or a simple dinner. The best thing about our apartment was the balcony overlooking a very lush garden, and as Villa Kamenica is positioned at the top of a slope, the balcony offers lovely views of the sea and Bisevo island in the distance. Having our breakfast in the morning sun gazing at sea was a delight! There is also a jacuzzi and a couple of sun beds on the communal terrace, a favourite of many guests though we were so busy enjoying the island, we never got round to using it! If you tell the owners in advance, you can also use two mountain bikes for free. The villa and its apartments are very well laid out so you hardly notice the other guests and have a real feel of privacy. The noise insulation is excellent. If I went back to Vis, I would definitely pick Villa Kamenica again!
Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms and apartments are of a high standard but ours – Aparment Bella – has the per...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

swissmissis london / London, United Kingdom / 20.9.2013.

“Stay in Margarita”
5 of 5 stars

We have just finished our stay in the Margarita room, the room was very large with a kitchen and beautiful terrace. The bathroom was larger than most places we have been staying at in Croatia and the room was very clean. The location was also quite close to main area of the town and about a 10 min walk from the main bus station. Tomislav, Zeljka and Duje were wonderful hosts,they were very helpful and kind. We would stay again if we were to come back

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

g5luder / Canada / 19.9.2013.

“Apartment Margarita”
5 of 5 stars
First of all, the apartment was much bigger than I was expecting after looking at the pictures on the website. Everthing was very clean and the kitchen was fine for our needs. What makes Villa Kamenica such a nice place to stay however is what's outside the apartment. It is set in a small sheltered garden, complete with fruit trees, a friendly little dog (Duje), two tortoises and a jacuzzi. It is a fantastic place to chill if you've had enough of sitting on the pebbles at the beach. The hosts are great - Tomislav is incredibly friendly and helpful; on our last day he brought us a tray of grapes and homemade lemonade while we sat in the garden waiting to catch the bus home.

The only slight downside was the sleep quality - the bed was a little hard and noises such as chairs scraping and toilets flushing in neighbouring apartments are quite loud. This definitely would not stop me from staying there again however, and is probably common in most mediterranean style buildings.
Room Tip: Margarita has it's own outside table, chairs and bbq - but it is right by the door to the other...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Jnzy1508 / Bishops Stortford, United / 12.9.2013.

“Three ladys”
5 of 5 stars

Best relaxing holliday ever beautiful surroundings. As we where 3 people, we are sorry to say that the extra bed was not so good. The SPA was exellent late at night under the stars. Thank you Tomislav, Zeljka and ofcourse Doi

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Carina A / Stockholm ,Sweden / 5.9.2013.

Fantastic hosts and the location is superb. A great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Komiza. Only a 2 minute walk from the sea and the old town. Have already recommended to friends!
(Booking.com)

Sophie / London, United Kingdom / 7.9.2013.

“Villa Kamenica”
5 of 5 stars

A really lovely self catering studio. Really lovely people. Good facilities and air conditioning. Did not like the shower though but a minor point. Would most certainly go there again.
Thank youTomislav and Zeljka.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

LonnieListonlover London / London, United Kingdom / 1.9.2013.

“Lovely apartment”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed at Villa Kamenica for a week and we couldn't critic a thing. Lovely bedroom with a little kitchen and a an adorable terrace with a nice view over the bay. The most cared garden with a sundeck and a jacuzzi. Everything was clean and they provided us with all the essentials.

Tomislav and Duje (the most adorable dog) were really good hosts. We even got a delicious lemonade and good recommendations on our arrival :)

Do not expect anything luxurious but it is definitely above the average standards on the island.

Thank you!
Room Tip: Ask for the room in the corner with the little terrace.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Jparanhos / London, United Kingdom / 23.8.2013.

“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Kamenica. Tomislav is a wonderful host who is so friendly and helpful. The grounds of the villa are beautiful with an abundance of fruit trees, flowers and plants making the garden a very peaceful place to relax. Our apartment was lovely and clean and had all the amenities we needed. We loved getting up in the morning and having breakfast on our balcony which had great views.
Villa Kamenica is in an ideal location and is only a 5 minute walk from the old town and harbour and also the beach. We fell head over heels in love with Komiza and couldn't recommend it enough!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

sophalexjones / London, United Kingdom / 8.8.2013.

“Most wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars
lovely accommodation (clean, confortable, outdoor space, good location, parking near house always available)
wonderful hosts (friendly, kind, of assistance, most welcoming.. gave us great advise on places to visit with children, where to eat etc, really helpful with anything we needed including lots of childnre laundry)
perfect for families, super clean, good location..what more is there to say

Luca and Lana

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

LanalUCA London, / London, United Kingdom / 1.8.2013.

“villa Kamenica revisited”
5 of 5 stars

This is our second time to stay at Villa Kamenica, not only because we felt in love with this place, the villa, garden and beautiful Komiza, but also because of our great hosts: Tomo, Zeljka, and their dog Duje, who was persistently chased by our four year old son. This is a great place for those who are looking for a calm and relaxing vacation, and we would suggest it, not only to families with kids ( such us), but to couples as well. Tomo and Zeljka are host who will always respect your privacy, but they are 24h on your disposal if you need anything.
Tomo used to wait for us to take us to Komiza, first time when we were coming from Vis two years ago, and he pick us up as well from Rukavac, where we've stayed before Komiza, which is quite far.
Vila's garden is so well maintained, you can see that they've put a lot of effort and their love in it. There is even jacuzzi hot tub, hidden deeper inside the garden, covered with pergola and curtains, very tastefully arranged. Beside is a garden sitting set, where you can drink a coffee or read a book under open air, while enjoying the aroma of lavender in the air.

Like I said in my first review two years ago, who visit Kamenica once, will visit it again for sure.. And we did... and will do again....Thank you Tomo, Thank you Zeljka, Thanks Duje.
Room Tip: All rooms are testefully arranged, have AC, terrace, and you will sleep well. All have equipped kitc...

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

EmanuelaMendes / Lisbon, Portugal / 19.6.2013.

The property, the owners, the location. Beautiful garden and balconies were great for relaxing. The garden was nice and the spa was a bonus to soak in at night when weary from travel or biking. It's a short and pretty walk to the beach or restaurants. The owners made us feel not just like family, but extra special family. They were great. English was limited, but it didn't matter

I wish the place had more units so I could come back with more friends!
(Booking.com)

Catherine / Pewaukee, U.S.A. / 15.6.2013.

“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars

We cannot recommend staying at Villa Kamenica enough!

Tomislav was fantastic, so friendly and welcoming as was his lovely little dog Duje! It is an absolutely beautiful villa, a short walk to the beach and a lovely little harbour with restaurants, we went hiking aswell and saw some great views!

In short if you go to Vis stay at Villa Kamencia!

Meg and Charlotte

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Meg1002 / London, United Kingdom / 28.6.2013.

Very friendly host Beautiful garden 5 minute walk to the beach Very chilled and relaxing atmosphere.
(Booking.com )

Isobel / LINGFIELD, United Kingdom / 26.6.2013.

Utrolig koselig sted! Veldig flotte omgivelser med frukttrær og blomster overalt. Koselig liten platting med massasjebad og solstoler. Vi bodde på det minste rommet, og selv om det var det "dårligste" rommet var dette mer enn bra nok. Var en mappe med ferge/busstider, kart og generell informasjon om Komiza, noe som var veldig kjekt. Beliggenheten er helt ypperlig, 2-3 min fra en veldig fin strand og 3-4 min til "sentrum". Det beste med dette stedet er uten tvil eierne. Rett etter vi ankom ble vi bedt på middag nede på en veldig koselig uteplass, og fikk servert utrolig god grillet fisk (fersk fra fiskemarkedet) og tilbehør, vin og brandy. De var mer enn gjerne glade for å hjelpe oss om det var noe vi trengte eller lurte på. Når vi dro fikk vi et lite skrin laget av sten (som vi regner med han har laget selv, da han jobber med sten), med blomster på og et kort som det stod takk på inni.Utrolig hyggelige og gjestfrie mennesker. Om vi noen gang skulle finne på å dra tilbake til Komiza er det ikke noe tvil om hvor vi hadde valgt å bo.
(Booking.com )

Andrea / stabbestad, Norway / 16.6.2013.

It was absolutly beautiful. The apartment is large well equipted and the balcony is great. Komiza was our absolute hightlight. Also because of this place. The hosts are so sweet - you feel like you are staying with family. And the garden is the most beautiful Í´ve seen. Sun deck with turtles, wirlpool and lemon trees everywhere.
(Booking.com)

Sarah / San Francisco, U.S.A. / 8.6.2013.

“Simple and sweet”
5 of 5 stars

Stayed in Bella room
Simply appointed, adequate for us for a few nights, nice little view of Adriatic
Tomislav is a wonderfully warm and kind host. His wife and he deserve their accolades.
Thank you for the walnut brandy and limoncello top ups.
Room Tip: Bella room is fairly small but well appointed. Small bath tub with hand held shower. We booked via b...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Ronnie_n_Helen / UK / 2.5.2013.

“Davvero un'ottima sistemazione”
5 of 5 stars

Siamo stati ospiti per una settimana a Villa Kamanica e siamo stati veramente molto bene. Komiza è un bel posto di mare e Villa Kamanica è situata in un'ottima posizione, comoda per il mare, come pure per la parte storica del paese. Si tratta di una struttura relativamente nuova, immersa in un giardino di aranci in fiore che emana un intenso profumo di zagara, ben attrezzato con poltroncine, sdraio ed anche con una piccola piscina. Eravamo alloggiati nell'appartamento Margherita, bagno, camera da letto, cucina/salotto e terrazzino, spazi adeguati, pulitissimi e molto confortevoli. Ed infine ricordiamo con affetto la gentilezza dei proprietari Zeljka e Tomislav che hanno decisamente contribuito con le loro premure al nostro benessere. Sicuramente torneremo da loro.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Fabio M / Padua, Italy / 30.5.2013.

Friendly relaxed atmosphere, the hot tub and the balcony overlooking beautiful komiza.

(Booking.com)

Anonymous / United Kingdom / 30.5.2013.

“Double Booked”
1 of 5 stars

I booked a stay at Villa Kamenica for my honeymoon, my wife and I spent 5 days in Split before travelling out to VIs to stay at the Villa. We booked the apartment Eugen back in August, however, when we arrived they seemed to have no knowledge of our booking.

Zeljka was at the villa although it is Tomislav who handles the bookings (he was in Split). I spoke to Tomislav on the phone but it seemed that he thought it was my error and that perhaps we had the wrong villa or dates. We didn't.

After around an hour of sitting in the villa and speaking to various people on the phone Zeljka gave us a bottle of wine and took us next door to a friends house where we were offered accommodation, they weren't ready for guests but it was somewhere to sleep. Tomislav & Zeljka did offer for us to use the facilities at Villa Kamenica but we did not want to, it was too much for us to have gone there when we had been looking forward to the stay for almost 10 months.

We were also invited back for a fish dinner at the Villa but again this did not make us feel comfortable so we politely declined. It was clear that they were upset by their mistake and wanted to do something to make up for it, we did accept a meal at Bako in Komiza which they paid for, which was a nice gesture.

From what I saw of the villa the garden looked lovely and by how upset Zeljka was it was clear that they put their heart into running the villa, all of this, however, does not make up for the fact that they let us down and spoiled a large part of a honeymoon that I had been planning & looking forward to for 10 months.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Dave P / Northampton, England, United Kingdom / 29.5.2013.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars

We've just returned from 5 nights at Villa Kamenica and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in apartmnent Bella, which has a good sized balcony with table and chairs, which looks over the picturesque gardens, town and the sea. The room itself has a comfortable double bed, little kitchenette with fridge, stove and sink and the ensuite bathroom has a small bath with hand held shower, toilet and sink.

The grounds of the apartments are divine. Luscious lemon trees surround the property and at the bottom of the garden is a wonderful outdoor jacuzzi with gorgeous sun loungers. The hosts, Tomislav and Zeljka are truly wonderful people - very friendly and hospitable - and eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They manage the fine balance of friendly and hospital, without bordering on intrusive. Their cute little dog, Duje, is a treasure too! They allowed us to use their bikes to explore the surrounding town of Komiza, which is a delightful little fishing village, with gorgeous views from the hills down to the harbour. There are a handful of pizzerias, fish restaurants and cafe's which are all very friendly with excellent food and service.

This place is an absolute gem. If you're looking to get away from the crowds of the mainland and enjoy real peace and quiet in stunning surroundings with warm, friendly hostS, Villa Kamenica is THE place stay. Thank you Tomislav, Zeljka and Duje for a wonderful holiday - we will be back soon!

Jemma and Tom.

Tomislav aslo bought out a try of cherry brandy and home made lemonade from their lemon trees whilst we were realxing by the jacuzzi one afternoon - bliss!

On leaving the apartment, Tomislav drove us to the ferry port at 6am, stopping off to take some photographs along the way.
Room Tip: We stayed in Bella, whcih is perfect for a young couple or solo traveller. It has a lovely balcony w..

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

j_pattrick / London, United Kingdom / 28.5.2013.

Eigentlich wollten mein Mann und ich uns nur die blaue Grotte anschauen aber wegen der wunderschöne Lage, der romantische Atmosphäre mit dem tollem Blick vom Balkon haben wir um 1 Woche verlängert.bei Zejlka Tomislav und Dujo fühlt man sich sofort wohl. selten so nette und freundliche Menschen kennengelernt.Am letzten Abend bereiten die 2 ein Grillfest vom allerfeinsten.Lecker!! Ach und der Garten voll mit Zitronen-Orangen- olivenbaume und mittendrin ein Whirlpool.Für uns waren das super erholsame Tage die wir nie vergessen werden.
(booking.com)

Danijela / Witten, Germany / 26.5.2013.

“The ultimate relaxing hideaway”
5 of 5 stars
We had the pleasure of staying for a long holiday weekend in early May at Villa Kamenica. To begin with, May is the perfect time of year to visit Vis-there are hardly any tourists whatsoever, and the weather is hot and sunny. Komiza and Villa Kamenica exceeded our expectations in every way. Tomislav and Zelijka are perfect hosts, affording you plenty of privacy but still around to lend a helping hand, provide you with a pre-dinner apertif, or make you a lovely lunch of grilled fish. Komiza (and Vis in general) remind me of what the south of France or the Greek islands looked like 20 years ago before the mass tourist influx. Komiza is like a fishing village out of a film-everyone is friendly and helpful, and it has everything you need with small-town charm. The garden house we stayed ticked all the boxes: your own private patio in the wonderful garden, a fully-stocked kitchen, WLAN, satellite TV, modern bathroom, and a comfy bed. Both Villa Kamenica and Vis are highly recommended-you will not regret your visit to this dream island!
Room Tip: Garden house is lovely and private!
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

wanderlust10437 / Berlin,Germany / 20.4.2013.

“Stunning place to stay”
5 of 5 stars

This was a really wonderful week. Our family found this a really helpful and friendly place to stay. Tomislav fixed bikes And dropped us back at he harbour. Really worth a visit. The town itself is wonderful and much friendlier than other places on he island. Plenty of good food and places to go.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

John A / Rugby, United Kingdom / 30.11.-0001.

“A bit amiss, after bliss in Vis”
3 of 5 stars
My partner and I stayed at Villa kamenica for eight days, having previously spent two days at accomodation in Vis town. Tomislav picked us up from Vis and was immediately very warm and friendly. Just as we were about to descend down into Komiza, Tomislav stopped the car for us to take some photographs and took some pictures of us too. We were actually slightly overwhelmed with his generous and lovely nature as he really was kindness personified. We stayed at apartment Eugen which was clean and comfortable with a nice and relatively private balcony offering an obscured, but reasonable view of Komiza town and sea. It was no fault of Villa Kamenica that we were slightly disappointed with this, having just stayed in apartments in Vis that offered fantastic views of Vis town and harbour. Komiza itself is breathtakingly pretty, but bustling with tourists. As beautiful as Komiza was, we actually preferred Vis Town which was quieter and had a more understated charm. As it transpired, we hardly saw either Tomislav or Zeljka throughout our stay and whilst they may have been simply trying to afford us the privacy they felt we wanted, an enquiry over whether we needed anything wouldn't have gone amiss. We were also not provided with any clean towels, essential in a hot country and at one point had to ask the cleaning lady if we could have some toilet paper. Tomislav and Zeljka have a lovely home and apartments and whilst the garden is very well maintained, we found it all somewhat claustrophobic. Villa Kamenica as indicated by the wealth of positive reviews will tick all the boxes and for most people too, but sadly not for us!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

TonyGeekgouris / Swansea, United Kingdom / 14.4.2013.

“Great hosts! Beautiful garden !”
5 of 5 stars
With few words, lots of gestures, a smile and always a helping hand Tomislav and Željka make you feel instantly at home at Villa Kameniza. The island is quiet and beautiful and we had the pleasure to stay in a small apartment in their adorable garden. Perfect for couples and small families !!
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Marc B / london,England, United Kingdom / 20.10.2012.

“Perfect memories”
5 of 5 stars

We spent a week in Comisa in May after a first week in Split which made for a perfect combination: bustling city then calm, relaxing island break. We'd hoped Vis would be tranquil, relaxed and beautiful and we really weren't disappointed.

If you're a couple, staying at Villa Kamenica is a great idea and May is the ideal time for romantic retreat if you prefer peaceful holidays. As almost all the reviewers on TripAdvisor have already mentioned, Tomislav and Zeljka (and their faithful West Highland Terrier, Duje) are wonderful hosts. They collected us from the ferry with a very warm welcome, drove us to the villa and took us on a personal tour. We were there for a romantic holiday and they cottoned onto that straight away, leaving us to our own devices for most of our stay.

The room was really clean and comfortable and we've never had a deeper nights' sleep anywhere in our lives. Night time is completely silent in this small seaside village.

We made the most of Komiza quayside cafe culture and tried every single one. Cafe Speed seemed to have the best coffee but others have better views of the harbour.

We don't usually write Tripadvisor reviews but we had to for this place. We really couldn't recommend it highly enough.
If you enjoy quiet, relaxing holidays with a warm welcome, excellent super-fresh seafood and great weather we can't rate the place highly enough. We are definitely going to return.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

westopher / London, United Kingdom / 10.10.2012.

“This is the Best”
5 of 5 stars
Staying at the Villa Kamenica couldn't have been any better! What a lovely and beautiful place. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming. Even though we speak English and some Spanish and they speak Croatian and Italian we were able to have full conversations! The garden was lovely and the jacuzzi was perfect. If/when we come back to Vis there is only one place that we would even consider staying!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

sean h / Brooklyn, New York / 18.9.2012.

“An idyllic holiday at Villa Kamenica”
5 of 5 stars
Our apartment was Eugenie which has a wonderful view from the balcony over the town, the bay and the island. It was immaculately clean, well-furnished and equipped with a comfortable bed and very good shower and bathroom facilities. Good air-conditioning (35 degrees when we were there). Tomislav and Zeljka are the perfect hosts, thoughtful and caring, interesting and interested. We loved Duje the West Highland terrier too. The garden is lush and shady. Comisa itself is the perfect Mediterranean idyll. The main town beach is just a couple of minutes walk from the house. We relaxed so much we didn't get round to seeing much of the rest of the island. We'll just have to come back!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Stephen O / Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom / 3.9.2012.

“Ausgezeichnet!”
5 of 5 stars

Reizendes Apartment, sehr gastfreundliche Vermieter, gute Lage! Diese Unterkunft war für uns der Volltreffer! Wir haben den Aufenthalt dort sehr genossen, weil die Villa Kamenica ein sehr geschmackvolles Haus ist, das in einen sehr schönen Garten eingebettet ist. WIr fühlten uns auch wegen der Warmherzigkeit der Vermieterehepaares dort sehr wohl. Sie waren ausgesprochen hilfsbereit. Gerne kommen wir bei nächster Gelegenheit wieder!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Klaudia W / Weissensberg, Germany / 25.8.2012.

“Bellissima vacanza”
5 of 5 stars

Abbiamo alloggiato nell'appartamento Margherita per due settimane questo agosto,appartamento carino con due terrazzini e il barbecue,tranquillo ma in centro,bello il giardino e l'angolo con la vasca idromassaggio ma sopratutto deliziosa e sincera l'ospitalita' di Zeljka e Tomislav ai quali va il ns ringraziamento per averci reso la vacanza migliore...senza dimenticare Duja...uno dei cani piu' simpatici che abbia mai incontrato.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

ArturoCat / Bologna, Italy / 18.8.2012.

“Fantastico week end”
4 of 5 stars

Un lungo ponte di fine luglio in una struttura scelta all'ultimo minuto e che si è rivelata ottima.
Eravamo alla ricerca di un posto tranquillo, immerso nella natura e circondato da acque cristalline.
I proprietari gentilissimi ci sono venuti a prendere al porto e ci hanno sempre fornito informazioni sulle spiagge da visitare. L'appartamento era pulito ed eravamo in centro. Per cui avevamo tutti i comfort che una vacanza anche se breve necessita.
Da ritornarci magari per più giorni.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Anibas20 / Roma / 5.7.2012.

“This is our favourite place!”
5 of 5 stars

So nice, comfortable and relaxing! Shadow or sun as you like!
To come to Kamenica is for us to come home. The little cute dog, Duje comes to us to say hello and Tomislaw offers a glass of vine or juice. Always service-minded!
Everything is clean and comfortable. Tomislav and Zeljka are always thinking of our convienience and always respecting our privacy.
We can recommend to buy fish at the fish-market in the morning and let Tomislaw refine and prepare the fishes and grill it in the garden-grill. That is great! One of the best fish is an ugly red fish with the name Skarpina, but it is important to let Tomislaw refine it, because the fish has a toxic sting. But it tastes delicious!!!
Buy the local Plavace vine tapped from a cask in a shop at the harbour. It is top-quality!
Komiza is a quiet little town with friendly people, small alleys without cars and good pebble beaches with clean and clear water. Every afternoon about 5 the local people meet each other at the beach for bathing, swimming and talking!
The town is not overcrowded of tourists. It is mostly local and Croatian people, you will meet there. People in all ages, but many families with children.
We can really recommend this place!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

FinnT56 / Billund, Denmark / 28.6.2012.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars

We have just returned from a week at Villa Kamenica as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the garden apartment which was absolutely perfect. The gardens are absolutely beautiful. The hosts could not have been better, just the right amount of help and privacy.

Komiza is a lovely little town probably the nicest place we have been in Croatia. The apartments are very close to the best beach this side of the island.

We rented a convertible car for a day to explore the island which I would highly recommend doing as the island has a lot to offer.

We hope to return next year with friends.

We miss the dog

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

jamieg1983 / Sheffield, United Kingdom / 25.6.2012.

“6 out of 5 from us!!”
5 of 5 stars

Thank you so much to Tomo and Zeljka for being such welcoming and hospitable hosts. They are so friendly and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble for them from taxiing too and from the ferry to sitting having a glass of wine with them talking about everything from football, families and their life in Croatia - fascinating when we spoke no Croatian and they have limited english...but the evening was wondeful. We also had a wonderful evening with our young neighbours when we were invited to use their own terrace and facilities to cook wonderful food from the local shops and market. (you guys were such lovely company too! xx) My birthday fell during our visit and we arrived back from our day out to find a bottle of wine and a card from Tomo Seljka and Duje.
The appartment was comfortable and clean with beautiful gardens and lovely views down to the sea. Komiza is a wonderful little town that is just the place to go for a totally relaxing holiday. There are numerous small bars and konobas serving excellent food. The island is so peaceful and uncommercialised.
All I can say is this is one of those special places that you know you will have to go back to. Well done Tomo and Zeljka - you have the best place to stayin Komiza and we were so sad to leave.
Tomislav Radić / sheffield / 18.4.2014.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

leerob / sheffield / 20.6.2012.

“I'd give it more than 5 if I could!”
5 of 5 stars

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights after reading excellent reviews on TripAdvisor.
Therefore, we went in with high expectations which were surpassed!!

Our hosts Tomislav and Zeljka went above and beyond to make sure we had an amazing stay and that we felt very welcome.
Examples:
-Tomislav woke up at the crack of dawn on our departure to drive us across the island to the ferry
-While enjoying a drink on the patio with our neighbors, Tomislav brought us a bottle of Croatian wine to enjoy
-We wanted to make dinner together with our neighbors one night on the outside wood-burning grill/fireplace and asked Tomislav if he could show us that evening how to light it. He insisted we use his own outside grill/fireplace and patio set which was a bit bigger. When we went down a few hours later to his patio, we were touched to find a table set for us with wine, liquors, cups, plates, dishes and cutlery. Tomislav light the fire for us, and even insisted we use his adjoining (and personal) kitchen for any thing we needed with our dinner.
-We were allowed to pick herbs from their garden from our cooking, and lemons were plentiful off their trees!
-Tomislav showed us all the most beautiful, secluded beaches on the island
-Free use of mountain bikes

Beautiful apartment with everything we needed, and clean.
Enjoyed playing with Duje, Tomoslav's dog.

Would definitely recommend staying in Komiza rather than Vis town on the island of Vis-- much more peaceful and pretty.

Our only regret is not planning a longer stay!!
We are already toying with the idea of going back.

Oh, and did I mention the outdoor jacuzzi?
Room Tip: Villa Eugen is the biggest apartment, and has a beautiful ocean-front view from the balcony.
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Amanda B / Basingstoke, United Kingdom / 18.6.2012.

“A truly special place”
5 of 5 stars

This was my first trip to Croatia and I stayed in Villa Kamenica for 7 days. As a lone traveler, Tomislav and Zeljka couldn't have been more helpful and kind, recommending sights, beaches, excursions to fill my week. Although Tomo doesn't speak that much English, he more than makes up for it with being one of the most amazing hosts, along with his sidekick Duje. If you are looking for a totally unspoilt, tranquil and relaxing place to spend a few days, I would challenge anyone to find somewhere better than Villa Kamenica.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Faye B / London, England, United Kingdom / 12.6.2012.

“Thankyou Tomislav for a great time in Komisa!”
5 of 5 stars

We enjoyed a very pleasant four nights this June in Villa Kamenica. We stayed in the garden room which had a great little kitchen along with a bbq area with a large table. The garden was beautiful with many lemon and orange trees. We especially liked the west highland terrier who would chase the cats around! We would definitely recommend it to anyone. Ask to try the home made limoncello!
Room Tip: Try the garden room, it is close to the jacuzzi!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

hippytree / manchester,UK / 5.6.2012.

“Just as great as usual”
5 of 5 stars

Coming back to Vis and Villa Kamenica for the third year in a row was - even better! Spending a week in Komiza has become a habit, slowing down the hectic spring back in Sweden a bit. We enjoy those easy-going days walking to the beach, sitting down at one of the small bars and visiting your favorite restaurant. The hosts Zeljka, Tomislav and Duje ( Westie like our Jimmy), are always there to help you out if needed. Regardless if you want to sit on a balcony looking out over the roof tops and the sea, or dwelling in the garden, Villa Kamenica can offer both! The rooms are always clean and tidy, and all of them with an individual, personal touch.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Eric M / Vanersborg, Sweden / 20.5.2012.

“Wonderful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars

Villa Kamenica was a perfect place to stay during our visit to Vis. Tomislav, the owner, despite not speaking much English was very warm and welcoming. His sidekick -- a Scottie terrier by the name of Duje -- was too. Tomo gave us wonderful recommendations about restaurants in both Komiza and Vis City. Villa Kamenica is located right in the heart of Komiza, a sleepy yet large town by Vis' standard. The grounds are tranquil and well-kept, and there is a jacuzzi for all guests to use. Our room -- the Margarita -- had a terrace with a lovely view of the sea -- and a full kitchen. Overall, the Villa was clean, comfortable, and a extremely enjoyable. The price -- 48 euro/night -- was by far the best value we found during our entire Croatia vacation.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Esugarma / Washington DC, District of Columbia / 18.5.2012.

“Feel like one of the family”
5 of 5 stars

From the time Tomislav picked us up from the ferry in Vis Town to when he dropped us back going out of his way to drive up to give us some panoramic photos we felt really at home on Komiza. The apartment was lovely; spotlessly clean and with all the utilities you might need including a barbeque on the front porch and a nice balcony out the back overlooking the town and the sea. Komiza itself was a really chilled out place and we loved relaxing on the promenade over a meal or an ice cream and watching the fishing boats come in and out. It was also a really handy location for getting to the Blue lagoon and there were good bus links to Vis Town. There are very few places we've been to that we would consider going back to on the basis of the accommodation alone but this was definitely one of them - thanks so much Tomislav and Zeljka.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

andrewc04 / England, United Kingdom / 18.5.2012.

“Feel like one of the family”
5 of 5 stars

From the time Tomislav picked us up from the ferry in Vis Town to when he dropped us back going out of his way to drive up to give us some panoramic photos we felt really at home on Komiza. The apartment was lovely; spotlessly clean and with all the utilities you might need including a barbeque on the front porch and a nice balcony out the back overlooking the town and the sea. Komiza itself was a really chilled out place and we loved relaxing on the promenade over a meal or an ice cream and watching the fishing boats come in and out. It was also a really handy location for getting to the Blue lagoon and there were good bus links to Vis Town. There are very few places we've been to that we would consider going back to on the basis of the accommodation alone but this was definitely one of them - thanks so much Tomislav and Zeljka.

Tomislav Radić / England, United Kingdom / 18.4.2014.

Emily-Turnbull

“A very warm welcome to a beautiful town!”
5 of 5 stars

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in May. Tomislav was so welcoming and helpful even collecting us from the late ferry on our arrival. The apartment was perfect. Clean, comfortable and excellent location for Komiza town. We had an excellent meal in restaurant Bako, so much so that we ate there twice. It was a shame the weather wasn't so great as we didn't get a chance to fully appreciate their beautiful garden. Overall a wonderful experience and would not hesitate in recommending villa kamencia to anyone visiting Vis!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Tomislav Radić / England, United Kingdom / 18.4.2014.

“Beautiful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars

Loved the island! The hosts were very friendly and picked us up from the ferry. From the reviews and what I could tell, it seems like the best place to stay on the island. Great hiking nearby and beautiful pace of life. Highly recommended to get away from the bustle of the cities.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Patrick G / Vancouver, Canada / 6.4.2012.

“Villa Kamenica”
4 of 5 stars

My partner and I booked to stay at Villa Kamenica in Komiza early 2011 following excellent reviews in Trip Advisor. The reviews stood up. The email correspondence following our booking was always clear, welcoming and friendly and full of advice regarding boat times, bus times etc. It immediately made us feel good about the trip - it's that kind of personal service which really makes the difference. And everything went according to plan. We travelled via boat from Spit, and then a bus from Vis to Komiza. We were very pleasantly surprised with the apartment. It was a good size, nicely decorated, clean shower/toilet facilities and it opened up onto a beautiful leafy private courtyard with an open fireplace, bougainvillea and a spa bath.
We had had a fairly hectic three weeks previous meeting up with lots of friends and doing a lot over a short time, so this was the week we set ourselves for some R&R - we couldn't have picked a better place - Thank you for such a lovely time! Margaret and Fraser.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

MargyO27 / Sydney, Australia / 10.10.2011.

“The perfect apartment and hosts for a stay in Komiza”
5 of 5 stars

My husband & I were so sad to leave the Villa Kamenica. We stayed for 3 nights in the Margarita apartment. Tomislav and Željka, (and Duje the dog) were overly welcoming. They are wonderful, warm-hearted hosts that have built a truly fantastic oasis. The gardens and lemon trees are a delight to stroll through and the tranquil setting is bound to relax your shoulders. The highlight of our time in Croatia was going to the fish market, grilling with Tomislav over the dried vine wood, and partaking in their family Orahovac (walnut rakija) & Travarica (herb rakija). I cannot say enough about this place.
Room Tip: The Garden apartment is the most private, but all the apartments are excellent.
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

KP / San Francisco, California / 10.10.2011.

“A little oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars

I had a 2 night stay in the Garden appartment in September - and I would have stayed longer if I could've.

The Garden appartment is separate from the rest of the house and has sole use of Zeljka's beautiful garden of fruit trees and flowering bushes. It's a really tranquil spot.

Tomo and Zeljka were very welcoming and made a big effort to communicate and share local knowledge in broken English (much better than my Croatian).

Would highly recommend

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Blinky_JJ / England, United Kingdom / 25.9.2011.

“Wonderful place, very nice people”
5 of 5 stars

In September 2011, we spent 10 days at Villa Kamenica and enjoyed our stay from the first to the last minute. The apartments are situated in a beautiful garden, the two hosts, Tomislav and Zeljka, are wonderful, warm-hearted people, who make you feel at home. We will definitely come back. Urs & Bettina, Germany

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Bettina K / Heidelberg, Germany / 20.9.2011.

“Another wonderful holiday at Villa Kamenica”
5 of 5 stars

This was our second holiday at Villa Kamenica and it speaks volumes that this is the first time we have ever returned to the same location two years running, this year taking friends with us. It was great to be greeted by Tomislav's friendly smile as we stepped off the ferry. Tomislav and Zeljka are lovely people who have created a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. The gardens are beautiful, a great place to soak up the sun or chill out in the jacuzzi. The appartments and garden room are spotlessly clean and very well equipped, each with it's own individual characteristics and facilities. Once again we enjoyed Tomislav and Zeljka's excellent liquers and Tomislav kindly prepared our fish for us and showed us how to cook it on the BBQ. Villa Kamenica is in a superb location, it is a short walk to the beach in one direction and the harbour, with it's excellent selection cafes and resaurants, in another. Komiza is a beautiful little town, with the small shops and market supplying all we needed, the bread and pastries from the bakery are particularly good. Villa Kamenica is a very special place. Our thanks to Tomislav and Zeljka for a second fabulous holiday.
Room Tip: The apartments in the main house are great for sea views, check the website for individual descripti...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

ewj7 / Swansea, United Kingdom / 20.9.2011.

“A perfect holiday apartment with a very warm welcome”

Our friends stayed here in 2010 and returned in September 2011 with Gill and I. We had the Garden Flat for a week and made good use of the big table on the patio, the fabulous BBQ that grills your fresh fish over aromatic vine wood and the outside hot tub/jacuzzi with sun loungers. Zeljka and Tomislav were so friendly and welcoming. They collected us from the ferry in the evening when we arrived late and took us back for the return trip. They prepared our fish for the BBQ and showed us how to build the fire and spread the embers for cooking. Cooking in the outside kitchen is really nice - and there is everything you need here to make that easy. Our hosts introduced us to the local grappa and liqueurs too. This is a really nice place to stay - short walk from the town and beach too. Highly recommended. Excellent ++. Thank you Tomislav and Zeljka for a wonderful holiday. Terry
Room Tip: If you like a sea view when you wake up, go for the first floor apartments which have balconies. If...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

BerttBaldock / Baldock / 15.9.2011.

"A hidden gem..."

As per the other reviews, we had a brilliant stay at Villa Kamenica in Komiza. The hosts and owners, Tomislav and Željka, were incredibly welcoming, meeting us off the bus from Vis Town and ensuring that we had everything we needed (helped by Duje the dog, of course!) Željka speaks a little English, whereas Tomislav speaks none, but don't let that put you off - you can always communicate with them with hand signals etc. Both speak good Italian as well.

We stayed in the Apartment Bella, which is the smallest apartment at the villa, but was plenty for 2 of us. It came complete with a stove and a shaded balcony, which was a godsend for us in the heat of the day (we are Brits, after all!)

As far as shopping in Komiza is concerned, the small bakery in the main harbour is a great place to grab breakfast, and the supermarket next door is a good place to grab the basics. Also, there are various fruit and fish markets around the harbour - have a wander around, and you'll find all you'll need. For restaurants, we would recommend the Bako (at the bottom of the hill where Villa Kamenica is) and the Jasmina (which is tucked away around the corner of the harbour - follow the road around and you'll find it. It overlooks the smaller beach.)

Would highly recommend staying here if you are looking at a holiday in Komiza. The website is very easy to use and book through.
Room Tip: Apartment Bella had the shaded balcony, which was brilliant to escape the midday sun, but still allo...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

jarea / Swindon, UK / 10.9.2011.

“A phantastic place”

My mother and myself had a reunion on the island of Vis. She lives in Germany and I live in Australia. To book our accommodation was very easy and straight forward via the internet.and we decided on the garden cottage. It was a wonderful choice, The place was super clean and had all appliances one would wish for. We cooked outside as it was so peaceful and pretty with the garden and the smells from the rosemary. The beach and town ship was only a few minutes walk away. But what made the place very special indeed was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners Zeljka & Tomislav. Home baked cake, Island tour, pick up from ferry are just a few of the hospitality they showed us. We can highly recommend Villa Kamenica . The island itself was very relaxing and quiet. Not a party island. Beautiful hikes around the place, great warm water and pebbly beach. All the restaurants we went to had great food and the locals where easy going. Highlight was the trip to the blue caves. Guess Croatian islands are a bit like Greece 20 years ago
Room Tip: our garden cottage was seperate from the other rooms. We liked the privacy and the way we could cook...
See more room tips

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

barbAustralia / Merimbula,Australia / 28.6.2011.

“Perfect”

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Kamenica in apartment Margarita, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. We made good use of the terrace and outdoor stove, grilling fresh fish from the early morning fish market over vines provided by the owners (the smell was amazing!) It was the perfect place to sit and relax on a warm summers’ evening.

The owners were a pleasure and made our holiday in Vis complete. They brought us different kinds of yummy homemade liqueurs and olive oil to accompany our meals, which was a real treat, and were helpful in providing information about the local area and Vis in general. The lift to and from the ferry was also great and much appreciated.

Komiza is beautiful. Try Bako for dinner – the food was delicious. If you don’t intend on hiring a car or scooter, stock up with groceries and basics in Vis Town or Split beforehand, as there are only really small mini markets in Komiza. For wine, go to the tobacconist on Komiza’s harbour – excellent value, locally produced, straight from the barrel!

The main beach in Komiza is great for swimming, the sea is crystal clear and calm. There’s also a tiny, rustic little beach bar, which was useful for grabbing a bit of shade and a cold beer!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Lindsey27 / london,England, United Kingdom / 8.7.2011.

“What a fantastic little place!”

We stayed in Villa Kamenica for a week during our honeymoon in Croatia. It was fantastic and everything we were looking for! We had been hoping to find a spot where we could just relax, do our own thing and feel comfortable and that's exactly what Tomo and all of Komiza offered us. Though there was a bit of a language barrier as Tomo doesn't speak much English and we speak almost no Croatian, Tomo did everything he could to help us; from picking us up from the ferry, to helping us figure out how to use the stove (oops!), to always making sure we were enjoying ourselves. It was great!
I wonder now if we'll ever get the chance to go back. I really hope we do, as it would be great to stay there again. But if we don't, we still get the great memories of walking around Komiza and enjoying our cozy apartment!
We stayed in apartment Margarita and the only negative thing I have to say about it is that I found the mattress rather hard. But if you like a firm mattress, then it would be no problem!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

LJtravelling15 / Vancouver, Canada / 16.6.2011.

“we were more than happy to find this small paradise and perfect hosts”

We've found this accommodation totally by chance, and we are so happy for it. Not only that place looks great, but hour hosts, Tomo and Zeljka ( and their dog Duje) were more than perfect hosts. We were accommodated in Garden apartment, which is situated (as the name says) in the garden, separated from the other apartments. That apartment was a great choice for us as we were there with 2 years old kid: there wasn't any stairs or so, so we could let him freely to run around the yard without being afraid that something is going to happen. Garden was really beautiful, maintained every day by hosts, very tastefully arranged with stone table, barbecue, small fontane, lemon and orange trees, and aromatic lavanda that gave some special touch to this peaceful place. There is also jacuzzi "separé", where you can hide yourself from other people views and get relaxed... Studio is well equipped: you will find everything you need for a vacation (including AC), even if you intend to make a longer one! Tomo and Zeljka were there for us any time we needed, and they offered us their help in everything they thought we might need, including preparing sea food and barbecue.
Regarding Komiza, there are no words to describe. We suggest you to go and see for yourself. I bet that you'll get back. At least we will. Hope vila Kamenica will be free!

EmanuelaMendes / Lisbon, Portugal / 10.6.2011.

“I was sad leaving this place.”

Me and my husband had great days in Komiza. Our stay at Tomislav and Zeljka did make it even better! We had the Margarita appartment,and everything was as anyone want it to be,I think!! Our hosts was the best,also Duje,their nice dog.
For the first time I had tears in my eyes leaving them and this beautiful little old town Komiza.
I warmly recommend to have a stay at Villa Kamenica!!
Oddbjørg Odden

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Oddbjørg Odden / Bodø / 20.5.2011.

“A Hidden Gem”

Tomislav and Zeljka are two of the most genuine and lovely hosts you are likey to meet on your holidays to Croatia and not forgetting their little terrier Doyay. We stayed with them for a week in Villa Kamenica (in the garden room) . Tomislav picked us up from the ferry, although he speaks very little English a few hand gestures and the odd word gets him by, which adds to his charm and sense of humor. He likes to welcome you with a shot of the strongest grappa ever.

Kamenica is situated in a great location, relaxing in the garden amongst the lemon trees whilst in the jacuzzi is a must.

The town of Komiza has a relaxing stress free pace of life. We reccomend borrowing the mountain bikes to explore the island and its stunning remote beaches A trip to Bisevo to see the blue cave is well worth the time.

If you can get up early enough to find the fish market, then Tomislav will help you prepare the fish and he might even show of his expert BBQ skills for which we were very grateful.

We highly reccomend staying at Villa Kamenica and we are already planning our next trip.

A huge Thankyou to Tomislav and Zeljka.

John and Susie

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

John and Susie / Cornwall / 18.5.2011.

“Amazing, Romantic getaway!!!”
My husband and I stayed at Villa Kamenica for a week and loved every minute of it! We stayed in the garden apartment which came with its own private patio, stone oven and beautiful views of the amazing gardens. Tomislav, Zeljka, Duje (their cute puppy) made us feel welcomed, showed us all the best beaches, and gave us great wine! Tomislav showed us the fish market and cooked an superb dinner every evening. By the end of the week we felt like family and were very sad to leave our paradise.
Villa Kamenica and Komiza are true gems! It was the BEST place we have ever stayed!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Greener1970 / England, United Kingdom / 18.8.2010.

“assolutamente positivo”
5 of 5 stars
Abbiamo alloggiato per una settimana nell'appartamento Eugen. L'appartamento, ampio e luminoso, si presenta pulito, in buone condizioni con una cucina attrezzata di tuttto e un delizioso terrazzino con vista mare. La casa è circondata da un giardino molto curato, dotato di vasca idromassaggio a disposizione degli ospiti. La spiaggia e i negozi sono raggiungibili a piedi in pochi minuti. I proprietari, Zeljka e Tomislav, sono una coppia molto gentile, premurosi e non invadenti. Tomislav va abitualmente ad aspettare gli ospiti all'arrivo del traghetto. Siamo stati accolti con dell'ottima limonata e liquori fatti in casa e una sera Tomo ha cucinato per noi il pesce che abbiamo acquistato al mercato.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

elena_ts / Trieste, Italy / 18.6.2010.

“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars

Firstly, the best thing about Villa Kamenica that sets it apart from any other place we have stayed is the friendliness and warm nature of the hosts, Tomislav and Zeljka will do whatever they can to make your stay more comfortable and help you feel at home. We stayed in the Garden room and it was beautiful, quiet and peaceful - yet still very close to the cafes and restaurants (about a 5 minute walk). The gardens around Villa Kamenica are truly amazing and it was lovely to sit there and enjoy a drink or meal. Make sure you spend an evening in the Jacuzzi too! Whilst Tomislav and Zeljka are very hospitable, they are also careful not to intrude on your privacy, often apologising for walking past our garden area! -although we didn't mind! Duje, their dog, is so sweet and friendly too - I guess it's true that pets are like their owners. The garden room is sufficient in size, with a kitchenette and small fridge, and nice ensuite. There is an outdoor sink, stove and woodfire BBQ too. Tomislav is more than happy to cook fish for you on it, which we would highly recommend. Grilled fish, the Croatian way, is so delicious! Make sure you enjoy your meal with plenty of local, homemade olive oil. Ah, so good! Zeljka's limoncello is amazing too. After 1 week at Villa Kamenica, we felt very relaxed and wanted to stay longer! Unfortunately, the rooms were all booked out, but Tomislav and Zeljka even helped us to find other suitable accommodation. We definitely plan to come back! Our only fear in writing about this on here is that it will become too popular and we'll miss out! ;-)

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

joshmt / Perth, Western Australia / 16.7.2010.

“Relaxing holiday at Villa Kamenica in Komiza, island of Vis”
5 of 5 stars
My hubby and I just got back from Komiza and Villa Kamenica 3 days ago. We stayed there for 8 nights and lived at the appartment "Margarita". As the other reviewers experienced,a smiling Tomislav met us at the harbor in the town of Vis, holding his "Villa Kamenica"-card.
The trip from the town of Vis to Komiza takes 10min by car. The scenery on the way is beautiful, with vinyards and olive trees on both sides on the road.
Our appartment was good size, with nice kitchen, air-condition, clean and two balconies. One on the back with a bit of sea-view, and the other in front was a nice and cool place to take it easy on those hot afternoons. They have a fantastic garden, with lemon, olive and fig trees. For animal-lovers they also have 3 pets. Two turtles and the cutiest and kindest little Westie, called Duje. He also fell in love with my husband :-)
Zeljka and Tomo are very helpful and friendly hosts, and seem like genuinely kind people who take their job very seriously and want to make everyone happy. The whole place seems very happy, actually because of the two. It has a perfect location, close to many small beaches and the chrystal clear water.
Komiza is a small fishing town, with lots of history. Life goes in slow-motion here and if you want to party all night then this is not a place for you. There are more then enough restaurants and cafes to choose from, boat-excursions, diving-trips, scooter and car rentals, etc. The place is a perfect place for small-children families, as there is no traffic in the down-town area in the evenings.
We took a boat-trip to the island of Bisevo and the Blue Cave, and this was a very nice picnic. It is not a tourist-trap and a rip-off like the Blue Cave at Capri, Italy which we visited last year. This was actually much nicer, cleaner, cheeper and less crowded.
All in all, we had a very nice and relaxing holiday and would definitely consider going on a vacation to Komiza in the future as well. Villa Kamenica would be a natural no 1 choise of accomodation.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

ARosenvinge / Bergen, Norway / 20.6.2010.

“Great place to stay - relaxing, friendly and fun”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed at Villa Kamenica in June 2010. Luckily they had a room spare as we loved our stay here. We were given the garden room, which benefited from leading out into the outdoor eating area and peaceful garden. I don't think it could have been any more relaxing!

Tomislav picked us up from the ferry and gave us an impromtu tour. From the very start both he and Zeljka were really friendly and helpful. Offering us the homemade grappa on arrival!

The island itself is fantastic. Really idyllic and not too touristy. There's loads to do (diving, boat trips, scooters, cycling...). We toured the island on scooters and got to see everything, stopping off at some lovely places and buying the local wine on route for dinner.

Tomislav recommended we buy some fish from the local market, which he then prepared and cooked for us on the outdoor fire. This is something you should try as the fish was better than in many of the restaurants we ate in.

Last but not least we fell in love their dog Doya. He's the most well behaved puppy we've ever seen and really cute.

We'd definately reccommend the apartments and hotel to anyone looking to visit this part of Croatia.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

chris_ronnie / london,England, United Kingdom / 13.6.2010.

“In the small village of Komiza, this is the the place to stay. Strongly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars
We went to Vis in Croatia for the first time in our lives and found a place to return to again and again. If you decide to go to the island of Vis, you are better off in Komiza then in the city of Vis. The village is small, beautiful placed between the high mountains and the ocean, and filled with old houses, narrow alleys and charming people.
We went there in the middle of May. It's a bit off-season and some restaurants and shops were still closed but that was ok, we went to calm down and nothing else. So we did. This is a great place for doing nothing!

We found the website of Vila Kamenica, the day before we went and luckily there was an apartment free. Tomislav came to pick us up at arrival with the ferry and showed to be a very nice man. He doesn't speak any english but we managed to have a amazing conversation anyway using all kind of other languages as well as arms and signs.

Tomislav's wife, Zejlda, met us at their house and offered us a glass of the fantastic local wine after our journey. She speaks a bit english and working to learn more! Anyway, there is no language problems. You'll get by, where ever you come from.

We got a one room apartment with a balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains in one direction and the village and the sea in the other. Everything is very clean and neat. The apartment is well equipped with a small kitchen, fridge, microwave etc. Everything you need, there is even a small safe in the room.

The house has a beautiful garden with loads of lemon trees and flowers. There is several outdoor barbecues and Tomo will grill the fish you can buy in the small fish market. In the garden there is also a huge jacuzzi, free for all guests to use.

This is really a nice place to stay, but the best of all is Zejlda and Tomislav. We only stayed for a week but when we left it felt like leaving old friends!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

DesertTracker / Stockholm ,Sweden / 22.5.2010.

“Beautiful, Friendly service”
5 of 5 stars
We had a great stay in Villa Kamenica, specifically in the "Margarita" apartment. Tomislav met us at the Ferry in Vis town and through a lot of hand gestures and grunting sounds we developed a pretty good method of communication. He usually spoke in Italian and we used our French and things we thought things worked out great. There was one funny point when Tomislav had dropped us off in Vis town for the day and when we were finishing exploring he picked us up and drove us back to Komiza. He had picked up a friend that he knew who spoke some English and through her we asked to be dropped off at the base of mount hum to go for a hike. After about 25 minutes of them heatedly debating in Croatian she turned to us and said - "sorry the hike is too long at this time of day but he has another great hike for you". We died laughing. He was entirely correct however - if you are staying in Komiza the hike to the north of the town (look at the water and go right) is absolutely amazing - one of the best we did all trip. We did the Hum hike later in the trip and it is very worth while too. Tito's caves are neat and it is actually quite an easy hike from there to the top. But onto the accommodations - The room was in excellent condition. The balcony in Margarita doesn't directly face the sea but you can lean out and get a great view. The Kitchen is well stocked with cooking tools and is very functional. Tomislav and Zeljka's walnut brandy is something special. You also have access to the much larger courtyard balcony with the outdoor fish cooking oven. We bought some fresh fish in the market one morning (which is actually hard to find - not a lot of overt advertising in Vis) and Tomislav was also cooking some fish that night and kindly offered to throw our fish onto his grill. The Garden is beautiful with lemon trees everywhere. This is a great place to relax on the island.

Turntables123 / Toronto, Canada / 19.5.2010.

What a find! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars

With a serious lack of hotels on Vis Island - which is part of the charm of the island - I was very fortunate to find this villa, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

It was very easy to book a reservation with the owners, Zeljka and Tomo (English speakers will go through an assistant), and they are very gracious hosts. Although I don't speak Croatian and they don't speak a great deal of English, we somehow were able to communicate, and sort out my questions and requests. I was also picked up and dropped off at the ferry at no extra charge, which, considering the relatively low prices of the rooms in the first place, is pretty generous. This was highly convenient, particularly since I had to catch the 7am ferry.

As a prior reviewer mentioned, the location of the villa is good as it is only about 3 minutes to the city beach and 5 or 7 minutes to the small city harbour, which is also where most of the tourist oriented activities are located.

The rooms are very clean, quiet and comfortable, and while I wasn't there in the middle of the summer, the ac worked well when necessary, and there is a small kitchenette and refrigerator which is useful for self-catering. My room had a lovely balcony, which looked out to the sea - this was a definite highlight! Obviously the rooms aren't the Four Seasons, but they are great value for money, and hopefully you'll spend most of your time outdoors anyways.

The village of Komiza and the island of Vis are amazing. Komiza itself is a great place to relax, and Vis Island is absolutely beautiful and unspoilt by any significant tourist development. I'd highly recommend renting a scooter to tour around the island (a real highlight of my trip in Croatia), and although I was a bit hesitant at first, a trip to the Blue Cave definitely exceeded my expectations as well.

It was too bad that I could only stay three nights in Komiza at this villa, and I definitely hope to go back in the future.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Toronto_AC / Toronto, Ontario / 19.5.2010.

“Something Special”
5 of 5 stars

We stayed at Villa Kamenica for one week of our honeymoon and loved every minute.
The owners Tomislav and Zeljka are lovely people and made us so welcome when we arrived. We stayed in apartment Bella which was lovely. Although it is the smallest of the apartments at Villa Kamenica, it is perfect for a couple and is actually quite spacious, with a very comfortable bed, small kitchen area and a very beautiful, private balcony. The apartment was very clean, air conditioned which was a big bonus as the weather was very hot. There is also a garden area for the guests to use with BBQ area, fabulous hot tub set in the most beautiful garden with lemon trees, lavendar and lovely flowers. We had booked in advance on the internet and were sorry that we did not book for 2 weeks as we would have stayed there if something had been available. It was such a relaxing holiday, made all the better by Tomislav and Zeljka. Villa Kamenica is really something special and we look forward to returning again.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

catherinehayes / Dublin, Ireland / 17.5.2010.

My fiance and I stayed at Villa Kamenica for three nights at the end of may and loved every minute of it. We were picked up at the ferry terminal by Tomislav (who couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly) and driven directly to our beautiful little apartment. The accommodations are spacious and clean, with a great little balcony for enjoying the sun and sea view. My only small critique of the apartment would be that the pillows were very hard... but that was such a small issue. The location is right in the centre of Komiza town, easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, boat trips or scooter hire.
Vis Island as the highlight of our Croatia trip and we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

badlittlekiwi / Australia / 17.5.2010.

An Ideal Vacation”
5 of 5 stars

If you want to completely disconnect and relax, this is the place. Komiza is wrapped in Mediterranean charm, lazy without being boring, and an ideal place to get away to. At Villa Kamenica, you'll find a relaxing, quiet spot 3 minutes from the beach, town, and anything you need on the island. Tomo and Zeljak are kind, knowledgeable, and helpful hosts who live on-site. They speak a little english (enough to get by), and will share a glass of wine, or leave you alone - your choice - but are always ready to assist with boat excursions, hiking suggestions, bikes, rental cars, or a lift to the ferry. We booked a room for 6 nights, ended up staying for 7, and could easily have spent another week. We stayed in two of the rooms - both top notch. The garden room lacks a view of the ocean, but has a grill - if you ask, Tomo will tell you how to buy fish from the local fishermen and help you get the grill going, for an unforgettable meal. Worth every penny. We plan to go back the next chance we get.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

the_voyageurs / USA, Washington, DC / 9.11.2009.

“where you fall in love with the island of Vis”

Originally my boyfriend and I had only reserved two nights in Komiza. We loved the island so much, we increased our stay as much as we could- from 2 nights to 8!
We chose to stay in the fishing town of Komiza over the busier port of Vis Town due to it's more relaxed reputation and the discovery of Villa Kamenica http://villa-kamenica.hr/ - a privately owned accommodation 5minutes from the main hub of activity, the small town harbour.

The owners of Villa Kamenica Tomislav and Zeljka Radic have the most beautifully preserved property, set in lush gardens of lavender which flutter with a sprinkling of butterflies. Tomislav, Tommo, picked us up from the bus stop and made us feel welcome from the offset. He cant speak English and although relies on Zeljka to translate, has no trouble communicating in well thought out and often hilarious gestures mixed with a wide smile and the offer of a brandy whenever you bump in to each other (which we often did on purpose just because they are so nice!). They offered us the use of bikes to explore the island (attempt if you like a hill or two! Worth it if you've been horizontal for a while!) and even made us a delicious fish soup when we came back with local fish which unbeknown to us wasnt good for a bbq, YES they also encourage you to use your own private grill!

Tommo and Zeljka truly made our stay what it was- they are wonderful people with lovely accomodation and I was very sad to move on when the time came.

Komiza is the perfect place for a couple who want quiet relaxation in naturally stunning surroundings. The people are lovely (stay as long as we did and you too will be saying hello to the locals on your way to and from the beach - our choice was the chilled out Kamenica beach, which holds Aquarius beach bar, serving drinks to a perfect compilation of relaxed beachy tunes).

My advice is go there and be prepared to forget what day it is. It's the type of place you lose sight of tedious headlines back home and instead learn to tell the time from where the sun is in the sky... An unforgettable holiday.

- Things to do
- Jastozera restaurant
- Excursion to the Blue Cave on nearby Bisevo
- Moped your way round the island with a map bookmarking beaches, Stoncica was our favourite. Sandy and caribbean like water
- Sample the local wine
- Snorkel around the rocks of Kamenica beach, but get some sea shoes and watch the black urchins!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

Seabiscuits / England, United Kingdom / 30.6.2009.

It was absolutly beautiful. The apartment is large well equipted and the balcony is great. Komiza was our absolute hightlight. Also because of this place. The hosts are so sweet - you feel like you are staying with family. And the garden is the most beautiful Í´ve seen. Sun deck with turtles, wirlpool and lemon trees everywhere.

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

stjepan.tafra / USA / 8.6.2013.

Moje preporuke svima!

Comfort
Location
Host
Cleanliness

stjepan.tafra / Hrvatska / 27.3.2014.